2021 NAMI National Awards Nomination Form
Recognizing individuals and organizations for their outstanding work in furthering the goals of NAMI's mission to improve the lives of people affected by mental illness.

 SUBMISSION DEADLINE: April 5, 2021 Extended until April 12, 2021 (11:59 p.m. ET)

To submit a nomination:

  1. Click on "New User, Click Here."
  2. Create a profile and login.
  3. Click on "Submit a Nomination" and "Add New."
  4. Complete the nomination form. If you are unable to finish in one sitting, be sure to click on "Save and Continue Later" in order to return.
  5. SAVE OFTEN as you complete it as well.
  6. Click "Save and Submit" to submit once you have completed all of the required information.

Joyce Burland Inspiration Award - This award recognizes a NAMI staff member or volunteer who has demonstrated creativity, dedication and resourcefulness to offer or expand NAMI's national education programs, and who has served as an inspiration to families, individuals with a mental health condition or the general public through their work with NAMI programs.


Lionel Aldridge Champions AwardThis award recognizes an individual with mental illness who demonstrates courage, leadership and service in their work to promote recovery and ensure that all people with mental illness live full lives in their communities. NAMI's highest peer award is given in the spirit of our organization's ongoing commitment and devotion to supporting a movement and community that is inclusive of people with mental illness, their family members and friends.

Multicultural Outreach Award - This award honors effective efforts to ensure that diversity and inclusion are high priorities within NAMI.

NAMI Young Leader Award - This award recognizes young adults who exemplify exceptional leadership among their peers to foster a culture of recovery and resiliency that helps people living with mental illness live full lives in their communities.
Outstanding NAMI Affiliate - This award is bestowed upon a NAMI Affiliate that demonstrates exceptional leadership, strong community presence, outreach to diverse communities and exemplary stewardship of the NAMI mission.  

Outstanding NAMI State Organization
- The Outstanding NAMI State Organization Award recognizes the exemplary efforts to carry out the NAMI mission.
Richard and Betsy Greer Advocacy Award - This award honors NAMI advocates whose leadership and vision has advanced policy and advocacy efforts that impact individuals living with mental illness and their families. 

Rona and Ken Purdy Award for Distinguished Service - This award recognizes the sustained contributions of an individual or organization to raise public awareness, reduce stigma and advance our mission to build better lives for people with mental illness and their families.

Sam Cochran Criminal Justice Award - This award recognizes exemplary individuals whose work in the criminal justice system has improved the fair and humane treatment of people with mental illness.


Awardees will be recognized at the virtual NAMICon 2021. A complimentary convention registration is provided. For a list of past recipients, visit NAMI Awards.